Monday, September 10, 2018

'The Hammer Of Witches' By James Rollins Retitled To 'Crucible' -- Plus Take A Peek On The Official Cover

The next Sigma Force novel by James Rollins had a working title of The Hammer of Witches. Now it was revealed that this same 14th book in this series is officially called Crucible, a much shorter yet still catchy title.

Since I preordered the book over Amazon a couple of months ago the thumbnail was always that of a headshot of the author. Now I am glad to share with you that the official cover has been revealed and you can see it below.

Check out the coiver of Crucible by James Rollins.

Crucible by James Rollins

Synopsis

In the race to save one of their own, Sigma Force must wrestle with the deepest spiritual mysteries of mankind in this mind-expanding adventure from the #1 New York Times bestselling author, told with his trademark blend of cutting edge science, historical mystery, and pulse-pounding action.

Arriving home on Christmas Eve, Commander Gray Pierce discovers his house ransacked, his pregnant lover missing, and his best friend’s wife, Kat, unconscious on the kitchen floor. With no shred of evidence to follow, his one hope to find the woman he loves and his unborn child is Kat, the only witness to what happened. But the injured woman is in a semi-comatose state and cannot speak—until a brilliant neurologist offers a radical approach to "unlock" her mind long enough to ask a few questions.

What Pierce learns from Kat sets Sigma Force on a frantic quest for answers that are connected to mysteries reaching back to the Spanish Inquisition and to one of the most reviled and blood-soaked books in human history—a Medieval text known as the Malleus Maleficarum, the Hammer of Witches. What they uncover hidden deep in the past will reveal a frightening truth in the present and a future on the brink of annihilation, and force them to confront the ultimate question: What does it mean to have a soul?

Crucible by James Rollins will be release on January 8, 2019.

Tuesday, September 4, 2018

Updated: The Queens of Renthia #4: 'The Deepest Blue' And 'Fire And Heist' By Sarah Beth Durst Get Official Covers

The forest canopies enthralled us when we first laid our eyes on The Queen of Blood, The Reluctant Queen, and The Queen of Sorrow. Although I felt like the tales of these three books are likely complete Sarah Beth Durst brings us back into this majestic yet dangerous universe, but this time turning our gazes away from the greens of the forest and zooming our sight to the blues of the seas.

Shifting its focus, The Queens of Renthia series places new (and old) characters into yet another epic adventure amidst the furies and dangers of nature. Called The Deepest Blue, Sarah Beth Durst's new book will be in our hands early next year. A cover has been unveiled that shifts the layout and with an art that changes the mood as well.

Check out the cover of The Deepest Blue by Sarah Beth Durst.

The Deepest Blue by Sarah Beth Durst

Synopsis

The natural magic of the classic The Island of the Blue Dolphins meets the danger and courage of The Hunger Games in this dazzling, intricate stand-alone fantasy novel set in award-winning author Sarah Beth Durst’s beloved world of Renthia.

Life is precious and precarious on the islands of Belene. Besieged by a capricious ocean full of malicious spirits, the people of the islands seek joy where they can. Mayara, one of the island’s fearless oyster divers, has found happiness in love. But on the day of her wedding to the artist Kelo, a spirit-driven storm hits the island with deadly force.

To save her loved ones, Mayara reveals a dangerous secret: she has the power to control the spirits. When the storm ends, she is taken into custody by the queen’s soldiers and imprisoned with other women like her.

They vary in age and social status, but to many they are heroes who will aide the country or witches that will sacrifice themselves trying. No matter who they are, the women are sent to a terrifying place—an island filled with bloodthirsty nature spirits, and left without food, water, shelter, or any tools except their own instincts and magic. Whoever survives the Island of Testing will be declared heirs to the queen. But no matter if she wins or loses, Mayara knows that the life she dreamed of is gone.

The Deepest Blue by Sarah Beth Durst will be released on March 19, 2019.

Update: The official cover of Fire and Heist, a book inteded for much younger demographics, by the same author has gone through a drastic change. The following are the initial and the overhauled cover of the said book (in exact order).

Fire & Heist by Sarah Beth Durst (Initial)

Fire & Heist by Sarah Beth Durst (Final)

What can you say about this overhaul?

Synopsis

Fans of Cassandra Clare and Julie Kagawa will devour this contemporary fantasy about a teen were-dragon who must steal her first treasure. But a dark discovery during her heist could put her family in incredible danger.

In Sky Hawkins's family, leading your first heist is a major milestone--even more so than learning to talk, walk, or do long division. It's a chance to gain power and acceptance within your family, and within society. But stealing your first treasure can be complicated, especially when you're a wyvern--a human capable of turning into a dragon.

Embarking on a life of crime is never easy, and Sky discovers secrets about her mother, who recently went missing, the real reason her boyfriend broke up with her, and a valuable jewel that could restore her family's wealth and rank in their community.

With a handpicked crew by her side, Sky knows she has everything she needs to complete her first heist, and get her boyfriend and mother back in the process. But then she uncovers a dark truth about were-dragon society--a truth more valuable and dangerous than gold or jewels could ever be.

Fire & Heist by Sarah Beth Durst will be released on December 4, 2018..

Friday, August 31, 2018

UK Edition Books That I Am Looking Forward To In The Year 2019

I am usually fond of US edition books, but the following are high exceptions that I preferred having copies of UK editions instead. Some of the reasons, of course, are due to having better dust covers, or the books are not printed in hardcover format for US editions. Whatever the reasons may be, here are some of the UK edition books that I am looking forward to in the year 2019.

The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon

The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon

The Priory of the Orange Tree is a supposed standalone novel.

Synopsis

From the internationally bestselling author of The Bone Season, a trailblazing, epic high fantasy about a world on the brink of war with dragons - and the women who must lead the fight to save it.

A world divided.

A queendom without an heir.

An ancient enemy awakens.

The House of Berethnet has ruled Inys for a thousand years. Still unwed, Queen Sabran the Ninth must conceive a daughter to protect her realm from destruction - but assassins are getting closer to her door.

Ead Duryan is an outsider at court. Though she has risen to the position of lady-in-waiting, she is loyal to a hidden society of mages. Ead keeps a watchful eye on Sabran, secretly protecting her with forbidden magic.

Across the dark sea, Tané has trained to be a dragonrider since she was a child, but is forced to make a choice that could see her life unravel.

Meanwhile, the divided East and West refuse to parley, and forces of chaos are rising from their sleep.

The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon will be released on February 26, 2019.

The Ruthless by Peter Newman

The Ruthless is the second book in the The Deathless Trilogy. It will be released on June 13, 2019.

Crowfall by Ed McDonald

Crowfall is the third and final book in the Raven's Mark Trilogy.  It will be released on June 13, 2019 as well.

The House of Sacrifice by Anna Smith Spark

The House of Sacrifice is the third and final book in the Empires of Dust Trilogy. It will be released on July 29, 2019.

Bloodchild by Anna Stephens

Bloodchild is the third and final book in the Godblind Trilogy.

Synopsis

In this epic grimdark conclusion to the Godblind Trilogy, heroes, armies, and gods both good and evil will battle one last time, with the fate of the world itself at stake.... The great city of Rilpor has fallen. Its walls have crumbled under the siege by the savage Mireces; its defenders have scattered, fleeing for their lives; its new rulers plot to revive the evil Red Gods using the city's captured, soon-to-be-sacrificed citizens. Now, with the Fox God leading the shattered remnants of the Rilporian defence and the Mireces consolidating their claim on the rest of the country, it's up to Crys, Tara, Mace, Dom and the rest to end the Red Gods' scourge once and for all. While the Rilporians plan and prepare for one final, cataclysmic battle to defeat their enemies, the Blessed One and the king of the Mireces have plans of their own: dark plans that will see gods resurrected and the annihilation of the Dancer for all time. Key to their plan is Rillirin, King Corvus's sister, and the baby--the Bloodchild--she carries. As both sides face their destinies and their gods, only one thing is clear: death waits for them all.

Bloodchild by Anna Stephens will be released on August 22, 2019.

There are still other titles that I am looking forward to, but these are initially enough to bloat my already numerous TBR pile. Are you looking forward for this title as well?