Wednesday, June 12, 2019

Cover Of Spellslinger 6: 'Crownbreaker' By Sebastien De Castell Revealed

It's been only a month since I received my copy of Queenslayer, the fifth book in the Spellslinger series by Sebastien de Castell, and we already have great news coming in for the next and final book. The finale is called Crownbreaker and it will be released within the year!

The official cover has just been unveiled and it is highlighted by a golden motif with the usual game card head-to-head look. Would this cover have a metallic shimmer as the following art implies? I am not sure... but what do you think?

Check out the UK edition cover of Crownbreaker by Sebastien de Castell.

Crownbreaker by Sebastien de Castell

If you are interested to see the US edition cover, here it is!

Crownbreaker (US Edition) by Sebastien de Castell

Synopsis

The sixth - and final - instalment of the inimitable SPELLSLINGER series.

Kellen and Reichis are settling into their new lives as protectors of the young queen and dealing with the constantly shifting threats to her reign and to her life. For the first time in his life, Kellen feels as if he's becoming the kind of man that his mentor Ferius had wanted him to be. Even Reichis has come to appreciate having a noble purpose - so long as no one minds him committing the occasional act of theft from the royal treasury.

But what seems to be a simple card game between Kellen and an old man is soon revealed to be a deadly game of wits in which a powerful mage has trapped the queen's spellslinger in order to kill him.

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, Guardians of the Galaxy, Terry Pratchett, Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.

Crownbreaker by Sebastien de Castell will be released on October 17, 2019.

Friday, June 7, 2019

#CoverReveal: The Book of Dust: 'The Secret Commonwealth' By Philip Pullman

The second book in The Book of Dust series by Philip Pullman just got an official cover! Called The Secret Commonwealth  this book will bring us back to the His Dark Materials universe that awed and enthralled fans, including me.

Just like its predecessor, the cover features an art that emulates the look anf feel of wood-carving, which is kind of unique in this day and age. It is highlighted by a reddish-orange hue -- brought about by the scenic depiction in the picture os a sunrise or sunset as a train passes by... off to somewhere promising, exciting ang myterious.

Check out the cover of The Secret Commonwealth by Philip Pullman.

The Secret Commonwealth by Philip Pullman

Synopsis

"It's a stunning achievement, this universe Pullman has created and continues to build on." --The New York Times

Return to the parallel world of His Dark Materials in the second volume of Philip Pullman's new bestselling masterwork The Book of Dust, and discover what comes next for Lyra, "one of fantasy's most indelible characters." (The New York Times Magazine)

Lyra Silvertongue's adventures in the North are long over--the windows between the many worlds have been sealed, and her beloved Will is lost to her. She does still have the alethiometer: the truth-telling device given to her by the master of Jordan College, which guided her journey.

Lyra doesn't know the full story of the alethiometer, though. Or the role that young Malcolm Polstead played in bringing both the instrument and baby Lyra to Jordan. She's now a twenty-year-old undergraduate at St. Sophia's College. To her, Malcolm is Dr. Polstead, an overly solicitous professor she would prefer to avoid.

But intrigue is swirling around Lyra once more. Her daemon Pantalaimon is witness to a brutal murder, and the dying man entrusts them with secrets that carry echoes from their past. They learn of a city haunted by daemons, of a desert said to hold the secret of Dust.

Powerful forces are about to throw Lyra and Malcolm together once again. And the dangers they face will challenge everything they thought they knew about the world, and about themselves.

The Secret Commonwealth by Philip Pullman will be released on October 3, 2019.

Thursday, May 30, 2019

Crescent City: 'House Of Earth And Blood' By Sarah J. Maas Gets Stunning Official Cover

Early next year, author Sarah J. Maas will be sharing with us a new series called Crescent City. The first book in this series is called House of Earth and Blood and it will be featuring her newest heroine Bryce Quinlan. Knowing the author's specialty you won't be surprised that we will be meeting a mixture of human and fae alike -- or even a hybrid of both races!

An official cover has been unveiled and it is as beautiful as the covers of her previous books, if not better.

Check out the cover of House of Earth and Blood by Sarah J. Maas.

House of Earth and Blood by Sarah J. Maa

Synopsis

#1 New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas launches her brand-new CRESCENT CITY series with House of Earth and Blood: the story of half-Fae and half-human Bryce Quinlan as she seeks revenge in a contemporary fantasy world of magic, danger, and searing romance.

Half-Fae, half-human Bryce Quinlan loves her life. By day, she works for an antiquities dealer, selling barely legal magical artifacts, and by night, she parties with her friends, savoring every pleasure Lunathion-otherwise known as Crescent City-has to offer. But it all comes crumbling down when a ruthless murder shakes the very foundations of the city-and Bryce's world.

Two years later, her job has become a dead end, and she now seeks only blissful oblivion in the city's most notorious nightclubs. But when the murderer attacks again, Bryce finds herself dragged into the investigation and paired with an infamous Fallen angel whose own brutal past haunts his every step.

Hunt Athalar, personal assassin for the Archangels, wants nothing to do with Bryce Quinlan, despite being ordered to protect her. She stands for everything he once rebelled against and seems more interested in partying than solving the murder, no matter how close to home it might hit. But Hunt soon realizes there's far more to Bryce than meets the eye-and that he's going to have to find a way to work with her if they want to solve this case.

As Bryce and Hunt race to untangle the mystery, they have no way of knowing the threads they tug ripple through the underbelly of the city, across warring continents, and down to the darkest levels of Hel, where things that have been sleeping for millennia are beginning to stir...

With unforgettable characters and page-turning suspense, this richly inventive new fantasy series by #1 New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas delves into the heartache of loss, the price of freedom-and the power of love.

House of Earth and Blood by Sarah J. Maas will be released on January 28, 2020.