Sunday, January 9, 2022

Cover Reveal News Round-Up, Including Books By R.F. Kuang, A. Deborah Baker, And Naomi Novik

Here are some of the recent cover reveals, including a new book book by R. F. Kuang, and sequels by A. Deborah Baker and Naomi Novik .

Babel: Or the Necessity of Violence: An Arcane History of The Oxford Translators' Revolution by R.F. Kuang

Babel by R.F. Kuang

Synopsis

From award-winning author R.F. Kuang comes Babel, a thematic response to The Secret History and a tonal retort to Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell that grapples with student revolutions, colonial resistance, and the use of language and translation as the dominating tool of the British empire.

Traduttore, traditore: An act of translation is always an act of betrayal.

1828. Robin Swift, orphaned by cholera in Canton, is brought to London by the mysterious Professor Lovell. There, he trains for years in Latin, Ancient Greek, and Chinese, all in preparation for the day he’ll enroll in Oxford University’s prestigious Royal Institute of Translation—also known as Babel.

Babel is the world's center for translation and, more importantly, magic. Silver working—the art of manifesting the meaning lost in translation using enchanted silver bars—has made the British unparalleled in power, as its knowledge serves the Empire’s quest for colonization.

For Robin, Oxford is a utopia dedicated to the pursuit of knowledge. But knowledge obeys power, and as a Chinese boy raised in Britain, Robin realizes serving Babel means betraying his motherland. As his studies progress, Robin finds himself caught between Babel and the shadowy Hermes Society, an organization dedicated to stopping imperial expansion. When Britain pursues an unjust war with China over silver and opium, Robin must decide…

Can powerful institutions be changed from within, or does revolution always require violence?


Babel: Or the Necessity of Violence: An Arcane History of The Oxford Translators' Revolution by R.F. Kuang will be released on August 23, 2022.

Into the Windwracked Wilds by A. Deborah Baker

Into the Windwracked Wilds by A. Deborah Baker

Synopsis

Be sure to soar among the marvels that can be found Into the Windwracked Wilds.

When the improbable road leaves Avery and Zib in the land of Air and at the mercy of the Queen of Swords, escape without becoming monsters may be impossible. But with the aid of the Queen's son, the unpredictable Jack Daw, they may emerge with enough of their humanity to someday make it home. Their journey is not yet over; the dangers are no less great.


Into the Windwracked Wilds by A. Deborah Baker will be released on October 25, 2022.

The Golden Enclaves by Naomi Novik

The Golden Enclaves by Naomi Novik

Synopsis

Saving the world is a test no school of magic can prepare you for in the triumphant conclusion to the New York Times bestselling trilogy that began with A Deadly Education and The Last Graduate.

The one thing you never talk about while you're in the Scholomance is what you'll do when you get out. Not even the richest enclaver would tempt fate that way. But it's all we dream about, the hideously slim chance we'll survive to make it out the gates and improbably find ourselves with a life ahead of us, a life outside the Scholomance halls.

And now the impossible dream has come true. I'm out, we're all out--and I didn't even have to turn into a monstrous dark witch to make it happen. So much for my great-grandmother's prophecy of doom and destruction. I didn't kill enclavers, I saved them. Me, and Orion, and our allies. Our graduation plan worked to perfection: we saved everyone and made the world safe for all wizards and brought peace and harmony to all the enclaves of the world.

Ha, only joking! Actually it's gone all wrong. Someone else has picked up the project of destroying enclaves in my stead, and probably everyone we saved is about to get killed in the brewing enclave war on the horizon. And the first thing I've got to do now, having miraculously got out of the Scholomance, is turn straight around and find a way back in.


The Golden Enclaves by Naomi Novik will be released on September 27, 2022.

Thursday, December 23, 2021

Cover Reveal News Round-Up, Including Books By Holly Black And Christopher Ruocchio

Here are some of the recent cover reveals, including a new book book by Holly Black and a sequel by Christopher Ruocchio.

Book of Night by Holly Black

Book of Night by Holly Black

Synopsis

#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of shadowy thieves and secret societies in the vein of Ninth House and The Night Circus.

One of Publishers Weekly's top ten most anticipated books of 2022!

Charlie Hall has never found a lock she couldn’t pick, a book she couldn’t steal, or a bad decision she wouldn’t make. She's spent half her life working for gloamists, magicians who manipulate shadows to peer into locked rooms, strangle people in their beds, or worse. Gloamists guard their secrets greedily, creating an underground economy of grimoires. And to rob their fellow magicians, they need Charlie.

Now, she’s trying to distance herself from past mistakes, but going straight isn’t easy. Bartending at a dive, she’s still entirely too close to the corrupt underbelly of the Berkshires. Not to mention that her sister Posey is desperate for magic, and that her shadowless and possibly soulless boyfriend has been keeping secrets from her. When a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie descends back into a maelstrom of murder and lies. Determined to survive, she’s up against a cast of doppelgängers, mercurial billionaires, gloamists, and the people she loves best in the world ― all trying to steal a secret that will allow them control of the shadow world and more.


Book of Night by Holly Black will be released on May 3, 2022.

Kingdoms of Death by Christopher Ruocchio

Kingdoms of Death by Christopher Ruocchio

Synopsis

The fourth novel of the galaxy-spanning Sun Eater series merges the best of space opera and epic fantasy, as Hadrian Marlowe continues down a path that can only end in fire.

Hadrian Marlowe is trapped.

For nearly a century, he has been a guest of the Emperor, forced into the role of advisor, a prisoner of his own legend. But the war is changing. Mankind is losing.

The Cielcin are spilling into human space from the fringes, picking their targets with cunning precision. The Great Prince Syriani Dorayaica is uniting their clans, forging them into an army and threat the likes of which mankind has never seen.

And the Empire stands alone.

Now the Emperor has no choice but to give Hadrian Marlowe—once his favorite knight—one more impossible task: journey across the galaxy to the Lothrian Commonwealth and convince them to join the war. But not all is as it seems, and Hadrian’s journey will take him far beyond the Empire, beyond the Commonwealth, impossibly deep behind enemy lines.


Kingdoms of Death by Christopher Ruocchio will be released on March 22, 2022.

Tuesday, December 7, 2021

Realm Breaker Book 2: 'Blade Breaker' By Victoria Aveyard Gets Official Cover

As usual, grit and blood continue to flow on the covers of Victoria Aveyard's books. The second book in the Realm Breaker series, called Blade Breaker, is no exception as we see in this new cover reveal. In real life, I get a little faint and anxious if I see blood, but this is the only sight of blood that makes me excited because it means another complex and layered story is about to be unleashed to the world.

I have never been this excited for another blood curling tale since beginning of the pandemic. It may seem inappropriate where the rest of the world suffers and here I am pining over for the Blade Breaker to be released soon. I only get to have few consolations in these troubled times, so I hope you'll forgive me.

Check out the official cover of Blade Breaker by Victoria Aveyard.

Blade Breaker by Victoria Aveyard

Synopsis

In the sequel to Victoria Aveyard’s instant #1 New York Times bestselling Realm Breaker, a divided world must rally, an unstoppable enemy must be defeated, and the fate of the world rests on a blade’s edge.

Andry, a former squire, continues to fight for hope amid blood and chaos.

Dom, a grieving immortal, strives to fulfill a broken oath.

Sorasa, an outcast assassin, faces her past when it returns with sharpened teeth.

Valtik, an old sorceress, summons a mighty power.

And Corayne, a pirate’s daughter with an ancient magic in her blood, steps closer to becoming the hero she’s destined to be.

Together they must assemble an army to face Queen Erida and Taristan’s wicked forces. But something deadly waits in the shadows, something that might consume the world before there’s any hope for victory.

The sequel to the instant #1 New York Times bestselling Realm Breaker features breathless action, deadly twists, and gripping magic, making it perfect for fans of Garth Nix and J. R. R. Tolkien.


Blade Breaker by Victoria Aveyard will be released on June 28, 2022.