Tuesday, March 24, 2020

Jim Butcher To Release Two Dresden Files Novels This Year: 'Peace Talks' & 'Battle Ground'

With the current situation we are facing right now, we can at least summarize that 2020 is a bitch of a year. But seeing a silver lining in this dire situation is what makes humankind resilient. Despite all these dark events of the last months, it's always heartening to see twinkling bright lights from time to time. For a bookworm like me announcements or publications of the books of my favorite authors are examples of those... so just imagine when Jim Butcher announced that he is finally to publish Peace Talks in in the next few months!

If you think that's the only good news you'll hear from him, think again. In the Peace Talks book trailer released just hours ago Jim Butcher has surprised his legions of fans by announcing the release of the 17th Dresden Files novel -- only 3 months apart from the release of the former -- and it's gonna be called Battle Ground!

Watch the said book trailer and make sure to watch it until the end!


Here is the placeholder cover of Battle Ground by Jim Butcher.

Battle Ground by Jim Butcher

Synopsis

Things are about to get serious for Harry Dresden, Chicago's oly professional Wizard, in the next entry in the #1 New York Times bestselling Dresden Files.

Harry has faced terrible odds before. He has a long history of fighting enemies above his weight class. The Red Court of vampires. The fallen angels of the Order of the Blackened Denarius. The Outsiders.

But this time it’s different. A being more powerful and dangerous on an order of magnitude beyond what the world has seen in a millennium is coming. And she’s bringing an army. The Last Titan has declared war on the city of Chicago, and has come to subjugate humanity, obliterating any who stand in her way.

Harry’s mission is simple but impossible: Save the city by killing a Titan. And the attempt will change Harry’s life, Chicago, and the mortal world forever.

Battle Ground by Jim Butcher will be released on September 29, 2020.

Sunday, March 22, 2020

Official Cover Of The Poppy War, Book 3: 'The Burning God' By R. F. Kuang Revealed

The final book in The Poppy War trilogy by R. F. Kuang is upon us. The Burning God comes out in a few months and we just got the first look on it's official cover, which you can see below. This award-winning high fantasy is a treasure because we rarely get to have high fantasies in this oriental setting.

Following the tradition of the first two books we have a minimalistic guohua-style painting featured in the front piece. This almost entirely black and white look is highlighted by a burning effect on the bottom part -- a nod to the book's title.

We have JungShan Chang to thank for this fantastic cover art, and Dominic Forbes for this simplistically eye-catching jacket design.

Check out the cover of The Burning God by R. F. Kuang.

The Burning God by R.F. Kuang

Synopsis

The exciting end to The Poppy War trilogy, R. F. Kuang’s acclaimed, award-winning epic fantasy that combines the history of twentieth-century China with a gripping world of gods and monsters, to devastating, enthralling effect.

After saving her nation of Nikan from foreign invaders and battling the evil Empress Su Daji in a brutal civil war, Fang Runin was betrayed by allies and left for dead.

Despite her losses, Rin hasn’t given up on those for whom she has sacrificed so much—the people of the southern provinces and especially Tikany, the village that is her home. Returning to her roots, Rin meets difficult challenges—and unexpected opportunities. While her new allies in the Southern Coalition leadership are sly and untrustworthy, Rin quickly realizes that the real power in Nikan lies with the millions of common people who thirst for vengeance and revere her as a goddess of salvation.

Backed by the masses and her Southern Army, Rin will use every weapon to defeat the Dragon Republic, the colonizing Hesperians, and all who threaten the shamanic arts and their practitioners. As her power and influence grows, though, will she be strong enough to resist the Phoenix’s intoxicating voice urging her to burn the world and everything in it?

The Burning God by R. F. Kuang will be released on May 28, 2020.

Thursday, March 19, 2020

Cover Reveal: 'The Invisible Life Of Addie LaRue' By V. E. Schwab

V.E. Schwab has been one to watch out for after A Darker Shade of Magic took the breath out of me. Since then I vowed to get a copy of each and every one of her books and savor each tale full of unique voices, ghastly and chilling stories, all in varying genres of entertaining reads.

She is best known to tackle on Gothic and dark tales even when she writes for young readers. That is why there is no surprise that her next outing will have to deal with the same genre-defying horror. It is called The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue and will be released fall this year. You can see below its official cover which was just recently revealed.

Check out the cover of The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V. E. Schwab.

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V. E. Schwab

Synopsis

In the vein of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab’s genre-defying tour de force.

A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget.

France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever―and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name.

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V. E. Schwab will be released on October 6, 2020.