Thursday, May 7, 2020

News Roundup: New Titles I Am Looking Forward To, Plus Cover Revelations

Reading is one of my recourse in these dark and trying times. When anxiety and fears invade my mental space I drown them all down in the world I glean upon the far reaches of the pages of books. Books serve as my security blanket that is why I am always delighted when I discover new titles from my favorite authors.

Here are a few new titles that will be released next year. I hope you will find them interesting as well.

A History of What Comes Next by Sylvain Neuvel

A History of What Comes Next by Sylvain Neuvel

Synopsis

Showing that truth is stranger than fiction, Sylvain Neuvel's A History of What Comes Next weaves a sci-fi thriller that blends a fast moving, darkly satirical look at 1940s rocketry with the amorality of progress, and the nature of violence.

Always run, never fight.
Preserve the knowledge.
Survive at all cost.
Take them to the stars.

Over 99 identical generations, Mia’s family has shaped human history to push them to the stars, making brutal, wrenching choices and sacrificing countless lives. Her turn comes at the dawn of the age of rocketry. Her mission: to lure Wernher Von Braun away from the Nazi party and into the American rocket program, and secure the future of the space race.

But Mia’s family is not the only group pushing the levers of history: an even more ruthless enemy lurks behind the scenes.

A darkly satirical first contact thriller, as seen through the eyes of the women who make progress possible and the men who are determined to stop them...

A History of What Comes Next by Sylvain Neuvel will be released on February 2, 2021.

Rescue by Jennifer A. Nielsen

Rescue by Jennifer A. Nielsen

Synopsis

From New York Times bestselling author Jennifer A. Nielsen comes a thrilling World War II story of espionage and intrigue, as one girl races to save her father and aid the French resistance.

Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left their home in France to fight for the Allies in World War II, and that was the last time Meg saw him. Recently, she heard he was being held prisoner by the Nazis, a terrible sentence from which Meg fears he'll never return. All she has left of him are the codes he placed in a jar for her to decipher, an affectionate game the two of them shared. But the codes are running low, and soon there'll be nothing left of Papa for Meg to hold on to at all.

Suddenly, an impossible chance to save her father falls into Meg's lap. After following a trail of blood in the snow, Meggie finds an injured British spy hiding in her grandmother's barn. Captain Stewart tells her that a family of German refugees must be guided across Nazi-occupied France to neutral Spain, whereupon one of them has promised to free Meg's father. Captain Stewart was meant to take that family on their journey, but too injured to complete the task himself, he offers it to Meg, along with a final code from Papa to help complete the mission -- perhaps the most important, and most difficult, riddle she's received yet.

As the Nazis flood Meg's village in fierce pursuit, she accepts the duty and begins the trek across France. Leading strangers through treacherous territory, Meg faces danger and uncertainty at every turn, all the while struggling to crack her father's code. The message, as she unravels it, reveals secrets costly enough to risk the mission and even her own life. Can Meg solve the puzzle, rescue the family, and save her father?

Rescue by Jennifer A. Nielsen will be released on March 2, 2021.

Brother Red by Adrian Selby

Brother Red by Adrian Selby

Synopsis

When the trade caravan Driwna Marghoster was hired to protect is attacked, she discovers a dead body hidden inside a barrel. Born of the powerful but elusive Oskoro people, the body is a rare and priceless find, the centre of a tragic tale and the key to a larger mystery...

For when Driwna investigates who the body was meant for, she will find a trail of deceit and corruption which could bring down a kingdom, and an evil more powerful than she can imagine.

A gritty and epic standalone fantasy adventure, to appeal to fans of Mark Lawrence, Andrzej Sapkowski's The Witcher and Joe Abercrombie. From Adrian Selby, author of Snakewood and The Winter Road.

Brother Red by Adrian Selby will be released on January 21, 2021.

Tuesday, May 5, 2020

'Midnight Sun' By Stephenie Meyer Hits Bookstores In August 2020

Midnight Sun by Stephenie Meyer, which is a reverse-perspective retelling of the Twilight novel by the same author, had long been overdue and some of us thought it may not even be published at all. It had suffered a lot of ordeal after chapters of one of its earlier drafts had leaked online, was overtaken by the Shades of Grey mania, and a movie of the same name but of entirely different story (or is it) made some of us forget the book entirely.

Now, 12 years after it was initially anticipated, the author has surprisingly announced that the said book will finally be published in August of this year. Following this announcement is the unveiling of its familiar-looking and fitting cover art and its synopsis .

Check out the cover of Midnight Sun by Stephenie Meyer.

Midnight Sun by Stephenie Meyer

Synopsis

It's here! #1 bestselling author Stephenie Meyer makes a triumphant return to the world of Twilight with this highly-anticipated companion: the iconic love story of Bella and Edward told from the vampire's point of view.

When Edward Cullen and Bella Swan met in Twilight, an iconic love story was born. But until now, fans have heard only Bella's side of the story. At last, readers can experience Edward's version in the long-awaited companion novel, Midnight Sun.

This unforgettable tale as told through Edward's eyes takes on a new and decidedly dark twist. Meeting Bella is both the most unnerving and intriguing event he has experienced in all his years as a vampire. As we learn more fascinating details about Edward's past and the complexity of his inner thoughts, we understand why this is the defining struggle of his life. How can he justify following his heart if it means leading Bella into danger?

In Midnight Sun, Stephenie Meyer transports us back to a world that has captivated millions of readers and brings us an epic novel about the profound pleasures and devastating consequences of immortal love.

Midnight Sun by Stephenie Meyer will be released on August 4, 2020.

Friday, April 24, 2020

'Battle Ground' By Jim Butcher Finally Gets A Glorious Cover

Every fan was surprised when Jim Butcher via the Peace Talks teaser trailer announced that there will be two Dresden Files releases this year. That was when the said book got enormously long so he decided to split the book into two.

The second book in the split will be released a few months after Peace Talks and it will be called Battle Ground. Its official cover has finally been revealed during Penguin Random House’s virtual convention in Reddit under r/Fantasy. As always we have artist Chris McGrath to thank for this glorious art.

Check out the official cover of Battle Ground by Jim Butcher.

Battle Ground by Jim Butcher

Synopsis

Things are about to get serious for Harry Dresden, Chicago's oly professional Wizard, in the next entry in the #1 New York Times bestselling Dresden Files.

Harry has faced terrible odds before. He has a long history of fighting enemies above his weight class. The Red Court of vampires. The fallen angels of the Order of the Blackened Denarius. The Outsiders.

But this time it’s different. A being more powerful and dangerous on an order of magnitude beyond what the world has seen in a millennium is coming. And she’s bringing an army. The Last Titan has declared war on the city of Chicago, and has come to subjugate humanity, obliterating any who stand in her way.

Harry’s mission is simple but impossible: Save the city by killing a Titan. And the attempt will change Harry’s life, Chicago, and the mortal world forever.

Battle Ground by Jim Butcher will be released on September 29, 2020.