Tuesday, September 4, 2018

Updated: The Queens of Renthia #4: 'The Deepest Blue' And 'Fire And Heist' By Sarah Beth Durst Get Official Covers

The forest canopies enthralled us when we first laid our eyes on The Queen of Blood, The Reluctant Queen, and The Queen of Sorrow. Although I felt like the tales of these three books are likely complete Sarah Beth Durst brings us back into this majestic yet dangerous universe, but this time turning our gazes away from the greens of the forest and zooming our sight to the blues of the seas.

Shifting its focus, The Queens of Renthia series places new (and old) characters into yet another epic adventure amidst the furies and dangers of nature. Called The Deepest Blue, Sarah Beth Durst's new book will be in our hands early next year. A cover has been unveiled that shifts the layout and with an art that changes the mood as well.

Check out the cover of The Deepest Blue by Sarah Beth Durst.

The Deepest Blue by Sarah Beth Durst


The natural magic of the classic The Island of the Blue Dolphins meets the danger and courage of The Hunger Games in this dazzling, intricate stand-alone fantasy novel set in award-winning author Sarah Beth Durst’s beloved world of Renthia.

Life is precious and precarious on the islands of Belene. Besieged by a capricious ocean full of malicious spirits, the people of the islands seek joy where they can. Mayara, one of the island’s fearless oyster divers, has found happiness in love. But on the day of her wedding to the artist Kelo, a spirit-driven storm hits the island with deadly force.

To save her loved ones, Mayara reveals a dangerous secret: she has the power to control the spirits. When the storm ends, she is taken into custody by the queen’s soldiers and imprisoned with other women like her.

They vary in age and social status, but to many they are heroes who will aide the country or witches that will sacrifice themselves trying. No matter who they are, the women are sent to a terrifying place—an island filled with bloodthirsty nature spirits, and left without food, water, shelter, or any tools except their own instincts and magic. Whoever survives the Island of Testing will be declared heirs to the queen. But no matter if she wins or loses, Mayara knows that the life she dreamed of is gone.

The Deepest Blue by Sarah Beth Durst will be released on March 19, 2019.

Update: The official cover of Fire and Heist, a book inteded for much younger demographics, by the same author has gone through a drastic change. The following are the initial and the overhauled cover of the said book (in exact order).

Fire & Heist by Sarah Beth Durst (Initial)

Fire & Heist by Sarah Beth Durst (Final)

What can you say about this overhaul?


Fans of Cassandra Clare and Julie Kagawa will devour this contemporary fantasy about a teen were-dragon who must steal her first treasure. But a dark discovery during her heist could put her family in incredible danger.

In Sky Hawkins's family, leading your first heist is a major milestone--even more so than learning to talk, walk, or do long division. It's a chance to gain power and acceptance within your family, and within society. But stealing your first treasure can be complicated, especially when you're a wyvern--a human capable of turning into a dragon.

Embarking on a life of crime is never easy, and Sky discovers secrets about her mother, who recently went missing, the real reason her boyfriend broke up with her, and a valuable jewel that could restore her family's wealth and rank in their community.

With a handpicked crew by her side, Sky knows she has everything she needs to complete her first heist, and get her boyfriend and mother back in the process. But then she uncovers a dark truth about were-dragon society--a truth more valuable and dangerous than gold or jewels could ever be.

Fire & Heist by Sarah Beth Durst will be released on December 4, 2018..