Tuesday, July 31, 2012

The Last Guardian is the Ultimate Artemis Fowl Book by Eoin Colfer

Artemis Fowl: The Last Guardian

I always thought Artemis Fowl: The Time Paradox is the very last book in Eoin (pronounced as Owen) Colfer's Artemis Fowl series. If I try to recall, I can't seem to remember where I got this idea, because I always thought the author is always promising his avid readers that this and that will be the last book until another one comes out again out of nowhere.

But now, after so many false alarms, the ultimate book about the beloved child prodigy and master mind criminal is at hand. This is really it! Last July 10, 2012 the eighth and last book has been published and was titled as Artemis Fowl: The Last Guardian. Honestly I haven't read Atlantis Complex yet, because I am planning to buy the last two books together in paperback. We may be excited and rejoicing about this, but our dear Eoin Colfer is a little sad about it.

Here is what he has to say when he was asked by Blue Peter (BBC) of the following: "Eoin, you’re wrapping the Artemis Fowl series up in your latest book. How did you feel saying goodbye to the characters you created over ten years ago?"

"I was relieved to finally type ‘the end’ after 14 years of work, but now that I am out in the world talking about it, I am beginning to feel a little sad. I have had people actually crying with real tears. I don’t want to make kids cry, apart from my own obviously - just kidding. I don’t want to make any kids sad. But it is better that they are sad now than bored in a couple of years." ~ Eoin Colfer

It is always a sad affair when a beloved series come to an end. Artemis Fowl may not be like Harry Potter in scale, but it is still one of my most favorite fantasy series. It has become part of my growing up years that took up also almost 14 years of my readership. So, as a tribute here are the complete list of Artemis Fowl books in the series:

Artemis Fowl (April 2001)
This is the book that introduced Artemis Fowl to the world. This story revolves around Artemis Fowl's plot to kidnap a Fairy officer unknowingly known as Holly Short, one of the fairy elf and other mythical creatures who moved underground to hide from humans, in order to demand a ransom of one ton of twenty-four carat gold for her safety and the keeping of their secret existence.

Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident (May 2002)
Artemis Fowl always believed that his father, Artemis Fowl Sr., is still alive. That is why when he somehow got a clue of his whereabouts he devised a plan to rescue his father from the Russian Mafia. But his plans may be hampered by the goblin rebellion led by a troubled pixie Opal Koboi and elf Briar Cudgeon.
Artemis Fowl: The Eternity Code (April 2003)
Everything is in topsy-turvy when Jon Spiro stole the fictional C Cube, otherwise known as the Eternity Cube, and when Butler is shot in the chest. Holy tried to help Butler by healing him, but the process became awry, that eventually forced the Lower Elements Police to wipe out Butler's and Artemis's non-human memories.
Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception (April 2005)
Opal Koboi is back and she has more plans of world dominion. She devised a plan that would reveal the existence of mythical creatures hiding in the Underground, unless Holly and Artemis Fowl could stop her (again, for the second time). Koboi kills her once nemesis Commander Julius Root that leaves the Lower Elements Police into tatters.
Artemis Fowl: The Lost Colony (August 2006)
There are still many worlds and a few knows about them. One is trying to open a portal from the demon world, known as Limbo, to unleash hell into the Earth. Here Artemis Fowl must collaborate with another child prodigy named Minerva to predict where the next demonic apparitions will occur, forcing Artemis to travel through time and space.
Artemis Fowl: The Time Paradox (August 2008)
Artemis Fowl must find the silky sifaka lemur, the only creature whose brain fluids could serve as a cure to his mother's illness known as Spelltropy. But Artemis knows he killed the last and living animal when he was ten. So he must travel back in time and battle out with his greatest opponent yet: his younger self. Will he be able to triumph against himself?
Artemis Fowl: The Atlantis Complex (July 2010)
Artemis Fowl contracts a psychological disease called Atlantis Complex. He experiences a combination of Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, extreme paranoia and Multiple Personality Disorder. He did many things without his 'true' self's consent,when he was lead by one of his alter egos. He must save himself to save the fairy world threatened by an impending doom.
Artemis Fowl: The Last Guardian (July 2012)
Opal Koboi opens The Berserker's Gate, a portal located on the Fowl estate, behind which dwell the spirits of Fairy soldiers who were killed in a war long ago. The spirits rise and possess the bodies of Artemis' family and friends. Artemis and Holly return the spirits to the portal before they rampage across the world, but the spirits kill Artemis. Foaly clones Artemis, and Artemis's soul inhabits the clone. The clone comes to life, and Holly explains how she met the original Artemis, starting the opening line of the first book in the series.