Monday, July 29, 2013

Watch Maggie Stiefvater Enumerate The Top Ten Reasons Why You Should Read The Raven Cycle

I've been eyeing The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater for months. It was almost a personal and funny experience for me, because there was one point when I already picked it up and and joined the queue to the cashier... that when I am almost to pay for it, I backed out and blushingly apologized to the cashier.

I've been having second thoughts... or maybe third thought for rebounds. But thankfully the author of the book and series has made a funny list of reasons why one should read The Raven Cycle. And I think I am sold... well maybe until I already have the books back home...

The nice thing about this is that the sequel, The Dream Thieves, will be released a day before my birthday.

Watch Maggie Stiefvater's Top Ten Reasons to Read The Raven Cycle.

Here are the books in the series so far:

The Raven Boys

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater


Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her. His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Gansey is different. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been told by her psychic family that she will kill her true love. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

The paperback edition of The Raven Boys is now available.

The Dream Thieves

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater


The second installment in the all-new series from the masterful, #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Maggie Stiefvater!

Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…

The Dream Thieves will be available on September 18, 2013.