Sunday, October 14, 2012

Kernel's Library: A World Where the Gods are Tiring

The Elder Gods by David Eddings and Leigh Eddings Book 00037: The Elder Gods
by David Eddings and Leigh Eddings

- The Elder Gods

First Publication:
- 14 October 2003 by HarperCollins

- This is the first book that David's wife, Leigh, was credited as a co-author despite having previous collaborations.

- Award for International Book of 2003 of the National Fantasy & Horror Club of Bulgaria

A new series, a new world, and a glorious story destined to reach the biggest audience yet. So claims the first book of Mr. and Mrs. Eddings' Dreamers series. And it was just not a claim as I personally believe that the book is greatly capable of attracting more and more audience. I wanted to buy this book the instant I first lay my eyes on it, unfortunately I have no money at that time. I waited for months before I could buy a copy in National Bookstore, Ayala in Cebu.

Get to know the book better by reading its synopsis...

"They are called the Dreamers. They look like sleeping children. They are, in fact, Gods. There are eight elder Gods, four awake, four asleep, by turns. When they sleep, they sleep for eons. The only time the Gods are vulnerable is when the sleepers awake.

Knowing this, the Ruler of the Wasteland, ambitious to become a God by destroying Gods, watches and waits, marshaling troops for war. So it is that the coming of the Dreamers passes unnoticed in the Wasteland. But the world is soon out of kilter, it is being dreamed, and the awakening of gods is no simple transition.

The sleeping Gods are stirring. When they wake the battle will begin. There will be trickery and deception. Tribes of humans, creatures of the deep, the sea itself and the earth, the weather and the divinities, all will play their part in the epic struggle against the Ruler of the Wasteland.

In their own exquisitely effortless style, David and Leigh Eddings weave a web around the reader of magic, mystery and humour.

The Elder Gods is the first in a new and eagerly anticipated series of four books from the bestselling authors David and Leigh Eddings. It is a magical, action–packed, totally engaging and characterful novel on the grandest scale."

Grade: A-